Favorite Clarifying Shampoo

Fave of the Week:

SheaMoisture African Black Soap Deep Cleansing Shampoo

764302270201

C/O SheaMoisture

Product Overview:

  • Sulfate free
  • Provides gentle cleanse while removing buildup from styling products
  • Key Ingredients include –
    • Plantain enzymes that help calm itching and irritation
    • Willow bark extract that exfoliates and detoxifies hair and scalp
    • Tea tree oil that removes buildup for enhanced shine and volume
  • Recommended for
    • Dry and/or itchy scalps
    • Dandruff, eczema & psoriasis

Ever since I became natural, I have become a HUGE fan of co-washing. I discovered through much trial-and-error (a lot of error I may add) that my curls are happiest when I instead reach for the cleansing conditioner and tell my shampoo to get to the chopper. However, I also discovered that my curls periodically need a cleanse that co-washing, nor regular shampooing can achieve.

That’s where clarifying shampoo comes in to save the day (cape and tights not included). Clarifying shampoo is awesome because it goes a step further than your average Joe shampoo to remove everything from your hair, and I mean everything – down to your natural oils and sebum everything! So why would you want to go that far?

Well, there are some styling products that even regular shampoo cannot remove, and said shampoo itself can be a culprit of buildup over time.

Along with that are my dry shampoo and pool people, who will need a clarifying shampoo to truly begin anew (did I mention that clarifying shampoos inspire mad rhyming skills?).

That being said, clarifying shampoos are not meant for everyday use because they are so stripping. I recommend adding a clarifying shampoo to your regimen once a month to give your hair and scalp the fresh start they need to thrive and be healthy.

So now that you’re a fan of clarifying shampoos too, I can share with you one of my favorites, the SheaMoisture African Black Soap Deep Cleansing Shampoo!

I’ll be honest, I have never been too picky about clarifying shampoos because unlike moisturizing, volumizing, (insert adjective here) shampoos, their primary goal is to just strip the hair – and they all do that pretty well. However, the SheaMoisture shampoo has managed to catch my attention and make me a loyal customer and here’s why.


This product:

  • Lathers amazingly despite being sulfate free
  • Does not “feel” as stripping
  • Uses natural ingredients (chemical and additive free)
  • Smells like bubblegum

Like I said before, I don’t expect many clarifying shampoos to stand out and vary from the alternatives, but this shampoo did exactly that.

I like the fact that although it is stripping my hair, it feels a bit more moisturizing than other brands I have used. I also like that a little goes a long way, so my shampoo should last quite a while being used only once a month. Plus, it smells like bubblegum! How can I go wrong?

And this is definite personal philosophy and preference at this point, but I cannot stress enough that I love the fact that this is a natural product free of additives and synthetic ingredients. Becoming natural definitely changed my view are on the products I use on both my skin and hair. While not everything I use is completely organic and natural, I am pretty conscientious about harmful or unnecessary ingredients in my beauty formulas and strive to use the most natural products available whenever possible (which is why you’ll find a lot of SheaMoisture products and similar brands in this product junkie’s bathroom).


So if you’re in the market for a clarifying shampoo, give this one a try and let me know what you think. Are there any clarifying shampoos you swear by? Share them with me so I can check them out!

One thought on “Favorite Clarifying Shampoo

Leave a comment