Favorite Cleansing Conditioner

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again!

When it’s wash day, don’t be surprised when I reach past the shampoo for the magical co-wash next to it. In my experience, even moisturizing shampoos do not compare to the hydration I get from using a co-wash.

That being said, the Coconut & Hibiscus Co-Wash by SheaMoisture has always been my go-to cleanser. Despite being an old favorite that has never let me down, I’ve discovered a new co-wash in town (well new to my bathroom anyway) that is after my little curl-powered heart.

I couldn’t help but get curious after hearing so many positive qualities about the As I Am Coconut CoWash, so I decided that as soon as I ran out of cleansing conditioner, I would replace it with this gem and see if it lived up to the hype.

IMG_20170316_101732~2

My Jar of As I Am

So what’s the deal with this co-wash?

Product Overview:

  • Contains a special blend of natural ingredients to gently cleanse the scalp
  • Key ingredients include – Tangerine, Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, Saw Palmetto and Phytosterols (Think plant cholesterol)
  • No harsh lather
  • Good slip for easy detangling
  • Gentle enough for daily use and safe for color-treated hair

I was really impressed with the performance of this co-wash as it delivered on all its promises and lived up to the hype.

The consistency of the product was a nice balance between fluffy and creamy, and it spread through my hair with ease despite being sulfate (lather) free.

Even better, my hair felt genuinely clean without the accompanying stripped feeling that usually comes with stronger cleansers.

And I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical about the choice in packaging. A jar did not seem as ideal as a tube or bottle for shower use, but to my surprise, it was actually..better (?).

See I’m a heavy handed girl, so I like lots of product. I loved having the liberty to access as much product as I wanted with ease thanks to the jar container, and as if I weren’t already sold, there was no mess! Bonus points As I Am!


So if you’re looking for a good cleansing conditioner, I recommend either of the brands mentioned above to get you started.

If you want to learn more about the benefits of co-washing as compared to shampooing, read my breakdown here!

 

Leave a Reply

