Meet the Experts: An Interview with Celena Williams

Meet the Expert: Celena Williams

Celena Williams

Celena Williams has not only been teaching as a Barber & Cosmetology Instructor for Milwaukee Area Technical College since 2014, but has been the proud owner of her own salon, Divastylz Hair Gallery (DHG), since 2007.

One of the things I love about Celena is that she always puts the health of her clients’ hair first. Beyond providing a beautiful style, Celena aims to educate her clients about their hair and provide them with healthy hair tips and practices to further their hair journey.

Because Celena is so good at what she does, I wanted to get her advice about how she maintains a healthy hair lifestyle.


Q: What’s the best advice you’ve ever received about styling hair?

A: The best advice I’ve ever received about styling hair would be PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT. I was told to never give up – To stay determined and focus on my goals. I guess that helps with everyday life as well.

 

Q: What remains your biggest challenge when it comes to caring for (your) hair?

A: My biggest challenge with caring for my own hair would be trying to keep up with a style that I truly love. I enjoy changing my hair so much I almost can’t keep up with my own self!

 

Q: What’s your best advice for someone struggling to see hair growth or improve the condition of their hair?

A: My best advice for the struggle would be to have patience. What most of us don’t realize is that hair actually grows at a slow pace, but our hair goals move at an accelerated pace. Keeping your hair clean and moisturized will definitely assist with your growth and goals.

Williams Quote

Q: What surprising lessons have you learned along the way when it comes to all things hair?

A: The most surprising lesson in hair for me would have to be the fact that hair is an appendage of skin. We need to remember that all things the skin goes through, hair will also go through. Treat the skin well and your hair will be your reward.

 

Q: How do you recommend balancing a busy schedule and maintaining hair?

A: In order to keep balance in our hectic lives and still have beautiful hair we must be dedicated and make sacrifices. Set aside a specific amount of time you are willing to commit to hair. It will work out beautifully when you put your mind to it.


If you are in the Milwaukee area and looking to get styled or have a consultation, book an appointment with Celena at her salon, DivaStylz Hair Gallery.

divastylz

Leave a Reply

