Girls with Curls: Latice

Every curl has a story.

Not everyone has found their Holy Grail product, including our girl Latice, but find out why this naturalista is completely okay with that.


Unlike my daughter, I don’t have a favorite product for the simple fact that well, I’m simple. I maintain my natural hair and the hair of my children simply by shampooing, conditioning, and using a leave-in product.

After being educated by my daughter, I found out just how many products there are to choose from when selecting products to treat various needs. Maybe it’s a matter of your hair being dry and brittle, or maybe you’re looking to improve your hair porosity. The fact is, there are so many factors that play a part in the health of our hair that frankly, it can get overwhelming.

Not to mention, there are so many products out on the market now that it is nothing like it used to be five years ago when this natural hair movement first began to get popular. There were only a few products out there that you could buy and you either had to search for online or at very special stores. Now you go everywhere and all major brands seem to have natural hair lines because that’s what’s in at the moment. I’ve tried many different products over the years in an attempt to find which one that would work best with my hair, but have yet to find my Holy Grail.

My hair consists of a few different curl patterns and textures and is probably like a medium-fine type of texture. I never really found a product that worked well, or even really bad on my hair… I feel like they all work the same to be honest with you. Now that might not be true and maybe I’m just not advanced enough to know what the difference looks like, but that’s how I feel.

And can I say that the price of natural hair products is a bit outrageous! I know a few years ago, it was probably expensive because they weren’t all that many products geared towards natural hair, but now I don’t understand why leave-in conditioners, deep conditioners, serums and milks all cost so much… Especially when you have to use not one, but a few different products to maintain or achieve healthy natural hair!

So like I said, I don’t have a favorite product because I just feel like they’re all over-priced and I don’t feel like one makes my hair shinier, bouncier or healthier than the other. I feel like whether I get a product for $15 or a product for $4, it all looks the same in my hair.

One thought on “Girls with Curls: Latice

  1. Autumn Down says:

    I agree on all these points lol I think that she has the same issues as a lot of people with finding a staple hair products…it can be super overwhelming sometimes 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

