Girls with Curls: Latice

Every Curl has a story.

What exactly does it mean to be “natural”? Black Curl Power welcomes back Latice to share her thoughts on the controversy surrounding Brazilian hair treatments within the natural hair community.


I struggle sometimes with the urge to straighten my hair. I love and am very thankful that I am able to add water to my hair and have beautiful ringlets appear without effort…  But, I also love when my hair is bone straight and how light and feathery it feels.

Since I have been dying my hair some shade of blond most of my adult life, I have to really be careful with what I do to it. I also know constantly flat ironing my hair will cause irreversible heat damage. And as I have gotten older with raging hormones, flat ironing my hair doesn’t last as long anyway because I sweat with any attempt at activity.

I have been interested in the idea of having a Brazilian treatment applied to my hair. Brazilian treatments seem to be the answer that will give me the best of both worlds. I can have my hair straight for a period a time with the option to revert back to my curly texture when I want to.

I am aware of the Formaldehyde controversy that is attached to Brazilian treatments in the past. I have been told that the process that stylists use now are Formaldehyde free. Brazilian treatments can be done as often as every few months or as minimal as once a year. The cost however is somewhat expensive, ranging from $150 to $350 depending on the salon.

In the back of my mind, I do worry that if I do the Brazilian process, will my hair truly be able to revert to its natural state or will I lose my curl pattern over time? I also wonder if I would be still considered a naturalista if I apply the treatment? I mean, isn’t this another form of texturizer or relaxer, just milder? Does it even matter?

I want the best of both worlds and this treatment could provide it for me.  Sometimes this whole natural movement and the pressures of not being viewed as a person who doesn’t love “Natural” hair is overwhelming. I love my natural hair, but I also love being able to manipulate my hair and try alternative styles. Life is too short to worry what others may think. Hopefully I will get the guts to try the treatment, and if it isn’t what I thought it will be, I can always start over!

 

One thought on “Girls with Curls: Latice

  1. tvscoopblog says:

    I have naturally curly hair and it is a pain to try and straighten it. I’ve had a few Brazilian treatments and I really liked it because it didn’t have to worry about my super curly hair for a little bit.

    Like

Leave a comment